Camiguin house

Inactivity.

A couple of you have commented about my lack of activity here lately. It has a couple of reasons. The main reason is I have been lazy. I have also been working on Camiguin trying to decide where to put my house as well as what type of house to build. I know it will be steel and concrete with no wood other than kitchen cabinets and the closets.
There is an existing wood house that is on 3 ½’ tall concrete posts but the termites have eaten the floor joists to where it will not be safe much longer. It is not uncommon to see a roof with wood rafters being replaced by a roof with steel rafters. I hate doing things more than one time so I try very hard to do it right the first time.
I will also use galvanized steel because it will last longer than painted steel in the salt air (at least I hope it will last longer.)
I have never built a major building before so this is all a new experience for me. I am preparing to move to Camiguin full time while still renting the house in CDO until the end of January because we have no place to store our things on Camiguin yet.
A note about the storm that hit Texas. This is from Wikipedia about a storm that hit the northern Philippines in 2011.
“ At least 30 percent of the annual rainfall in the northern Philippines can be traced to tropical cyclones, while the southern islands receiving less than 10 percent of their annual rainfall from tropical cyclones. The wettest known tropical cyclone to impact the archipelago was the July 1911 cyclone, when the total precipitation for Baguio was distributed over the four days as: 14th – 879.8 mm (34.6 in), 15th – 733.6 mm (28.9 in), 16th – 424.9 mm (16.7 in), 17th – 200.4 mm (7.9 in);[3][4] followed by extraordinary drought from October 1911 to May 1912, so that the annual amount of those two years were hardly noticeable.”
For those of you who are mathematically challenged or do not want to use a calculator, that storm dumped 88.1 inches of rain on the city of Baguio in just four days. I remember reading many years ago that Van Wert or Ft. Wayne ( I do not remember which) gets an average of 37” of snow per year and an average total accumulation of perception (rain plus snow) of 37” per year. That means Baguio got over 2 years of Van Wert’s normal annual precipitation in 4 days.

I am in the southern Philippines and do not need to be too worried about typhoons but we do get heavy rain sometimes as a result of them just like Ohio can get a lot of rain from the tail end of a hurricane. We got about 17” here in less than a week and over 5” in one day but it did not cause flooding in my subdivision about 3 years ago.

I have been warned twice that my lot on Camiguin floods but I do not see how since it is so close to the ocean. There is a stream that forms part of my property line but the previous owner put in a retaining wall and he said the water never got more than half way up it.
Where my house will sit is about 12’ above sea level and I will build my house up another 1 or 2 feet to add even more insurance against flooding. That will put me about 6” above the road that is about 75’ from where my house will sit.
The typical Filipino house is made from very weak concrete blocks (they do not put enough cement into the concrete they make the blocks from) and wood door/window frames, and wooden rafters with very very thin sheet metal roofs.
My house will be poured concrete with plenty of rebar in it for strength and metal rafters and a much thicker metal roof.
My house will be wheelchair friendly because a person never knows what will happen in the future.
So far I only have 2 carpenters and 2 laborers working on my building site getting ready for the house but that will soon increase to perhaps 15-20 workers total.
It is late now and I am very tired. I hope to go back to Camiguin sometime tomorrow so I need to get to bed. I will try to update more often.

Don

Leave a Reply

